Thread poster: Rob Grayson
Rob Grayson
Rob Grayson  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 16:56
French to English
Dec 6, 2007

Hi,

I've been freelancing for a couple of years now, and until today have never come across a file with the extension .ttx. A client has just sent me a large batch of Word and Powerpoint files to translate, some of which are accompnied by another file of the same name but with .ttx on the end. From a bit of googling, I think they have something to do with Trados, but I don't know what.

My CAT tool is MetaTexis, which is able to import TMs and glossaries in TMX and text
... See more
Hi,

I've been freelancing for a couple of years now, and until today have never come across a file with the extension .ttx. A client has just sent me a large batch of Word and Powerpoint files to translate, some of which are accompnied by another file of the same name but with .ttx on the end. From a bit of googling, I think they have something to do with Trados, but I don't know what.

My CAT tool is MetaTexis, which is able to import TMs and glossaries in TMX and text format, and apparently is also able to deal with tagged documents, though I've never used it for that.

Can anyone explain to me what a .ttx file is, and how I might go about using it without Trados?

Thanks,

Rob
Collapse

Margreet Logmans (X)
Margreet Logmans (X)  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 17:56
English to Dutch
+ ...
Tagged Dec 6, 2007

A .ttx is a Trados Tag Editor file.
I suppose it can be converted, but I don't know how.

What file format does MetaTexis use for tagged files?

Perhaps you can open in in Notepad or Wordpad ( I have MS Office in Dutch, don't know the English name), to see if the content matches any of the documents you've already got. It could be that this file is actually the same text in a different format.

Louise Dupont (X)
Louise Dupont (X)  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 11:56
English to French
TTX is... Dec 6, 2007