Semrin Demirel
Semrin Demirel  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 15:31
German
+ ...
Mar 16, 2019

Hello Community

Did anyone of you experienced a con game kind of thing?

Like someone is proposing you a job and after agreeing asking you for your bank-details for the payment and in the end nothing is happening?

Cheers, Semrin

Zuri Kim

Yoana Ivanova
Yoana Ivanova  Identity Verified
Estonia
Local time: 16:31
English to Bulgarian
+ ...
Scams Mar 19, 2019

These kind of scams are extremely common. Let me guess, it was a decent job, great rate, promised upfront or advance payment by cheque and they need all of your bank details right away?

Zuri Kim

Zuri Kim
Zuri Kim  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 10:31
Member (2019)
Similar scam? How do you respond to that if at all? Just don't? Mar 21, 2019

Hi everyone!

I'm new to the professional translation arena and I was initially really excited to receive a couple offers recently.

The first one, I was contacted by text and details worked out over email - They accepted my quote, saying 'their sponsors will send half payment right away and the remaining half when the job is done'. Asking for my cell number seemed strange but I didn't want to question much and just wanted to do the job. But like Semrin mentioned, nothin
... See more
Hi everyone!

I'm new to the professional translation arena and I was initially really excited to receive a couple offers recently.

The first one, I was contacted by text and details worked out over email - They accepted my quote, saying 'their sponsors will send half payment right away and the remaining half when the job is done'. Asking for my cell number seemed strange but I didn't want to question much and just wanted to do the job. But like Semrin mentioned, nothing happened since sending the info.