James Greenfield
James Greenfield  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 10:47
Member (2013)
French to English
+ ...
Feb 13

I've been a freelance translator for 11 years. I've really struggled though to make a living. I've seen a trend to increasingly low rates and I fear that this will get worse. I've come to the point where I've practically given up and am looking for work elsewhere.

If I do get job emails it's asking me if I might be available for an upcoming project that then gets cancelled or is at a silly rate. I send my CV to good agencies and get rejected time and time again.

Gerard Barry
Rachel Waddington
Marina Aleyeva
Dan Lucas
Susanna Martoni
Angus Stewart
Philip Lees

Gerard Barry
Gerard Barry
Germany
Local time: 11:47
German to English
I know what you mean Feb 13

I've worked as a freelance translator in the past, but for the past 11 years I've been working in-house. I am also considering doing something entirely different as new in-house jobs are so hard to find and I'm worried about the impact of machine translation on our line of work.

Rachel Waddington
Marina Aleyeva
Angus Stewart
Arjun Pokharel
Emmanuel Castro

Charlie Bavington
Charlie Bavington  Identity Verified
French to English
Any consolation Feb 13

I know & know of about a dozen Fr-Eng translators in the last year/18 months with perhaps 200 years of combined experience (most of them have been around for 20 years or more) who have left translation entirely or turned it into a part-time affair while they do other things.

I work(ed) with 4 agencies fairly regularly (plus some direct work). I was reminding them I exist in Jan (meilleurs vœux email, you know the thing) and 3 of them just outright stated that 2023 had been a disast
... See more