Medical Interpreting: Ethical dilemmas and clarity of professional boundaries
Thread poster: Lynchan
Lynchan
Lynchan
Australia
Local time: 14:24
Apr 23, 2022

Hi, I am a registered nurse and an interpreter student.
I would like to ask how you deal with the below situations during a medical consultation assignment.

1) the client who knew my nursing background asked me for more details of
their diagnosis or treatment after the interpreting assignment.
2) After the medical consultation, the client asked me for a personal opinion on
what they should do next.

Heather Chinchilla
Heather Chinchilla
United States
Local time: 02:24
Spanish to English
+ ...
Role of Medical Interpreter Apr 23, 2022

Hello! I’m from a different country than you so I would suggest finding out if there is a medical interpreting code of ethics for Australia. But here is the info in the U.S.:

1) Your nursing background will make becoming a medical interpreter easier because you know about medical terminology, body systems, etc but when you’re interpreting I suggest you “change your hat” so when you’re on an interpreting assignment you are an interpreter and not a nurse.

As th
... See more
Hello! I’m from a different country than you so I would suggest finding out if there is a medical interpreting code of ethics for Australia. But here is the info in the U.S.:

1) Your nursing background will make becoming a medical interpreter easier because you know about medical terminology, body systems, etc but when you’re interpreting I suggest you “change your hat” so when you’re on an interpreting assignment you are an interpreter and not a nurse.

As the interpreter we interpret exactly what the medical provider and patient say to each other without adding, subtracting, or changing anything said.