IrimiConsulting
IrimiConsulting  Identity Verified
Sweden
Local time: 18:05
Member (2010)
English to Swedish
+ ...
Feb 14, 2022

Please just stay away from this tool at all costs. You will regret it. You have been warned.

My background: I have worked in Across for ten years and translated hundreds of thousands of words, if not millions. I've been a translator for over 20 years and regularly work in half a dozen different tools. I know what I'm talking about.

I've seen Across going from a not-worse-than-other-online-tools to absolute and utter manure, while its competitors have actually evo
... See more
Please just stay away from this tool at all costs. You will regret it. You have been warned.

My background: I have worked in Across for ten years and translated hundreds of thousands of words, if not millions. I've been a translator for over 20 years and regularly work in half a dozen different tools. I know what I'm talking about.

I've seen Across going from a not-worse-than-other-online-tools to absolute and utter manure, while its competitors have actually evolved into being mostly useful. Across has almost all the functions other tools have, but implemented in its own way, i.e. with the intent to hurt translation efficiency (at which it is oddly successful).

- Sluggish performance while translating? Check.
- Sluggish performance when QA checking? Oh yeah.
- Snailpaced and feature reduced "No software installation needed" alternative available? Abso-f- rigging-lutely (looking at you crossWeb).
- Database corruptions at about every second update, requiring reinstalls and reboots? You got it.
- No built-in update function? Hooray.
- Huge installation and maintenance costs for servers and server licenses? Yeah baby.
- TM version incompatible with anything but itself, with no export features for the translator? Naturally.
- Nonexistent exporting and importing? Correct.