Pia Myeong-Jin Lampert
Pia Myeong-Jin Lampert  Identity Verified
Switzerland
Local time: 14:49
Member (2023)
English to German
Oct 15, 2023

Hallo,

I've been translating for 15 months now (German to English pair), primarily in the Software/IT and marketing fields. However, I would like to expand my portfolio and start translating for EU Institutions/ intergovernmental organizations. Moving to Brussels/Luxembourg is not an option right now and the UN organizations usually do not require German. I have been wondering about the best way on how to get started. Most importantly, how to get translation experience in this area.
... See more
Hallo,

I've been translating for 15 months now (German to English pair), primarily in the Software/IT and marketing fields. However, I would like to expand my portfolio and start translating for EU Institutions/ intergovernmental organizations. Moving to Brussels/Luxembourg is not an option right now and the UN organizations usually do not require German. I have been wondering about the best way on how to get started. Most importantly, how to get translation experience in this area.

I have a BA in American Politics and an MA in International Relations/Global Conflict. I did work for the German government before becoming a freelancer. Are there any other certifications I do require? Is this sufficient to apply to agencies, or should I volunteer for an organization to produce some translations first which I can use for my application?

Any input highly appreciated. Thank you.
Collapse

Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 13:49
Member (2007)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
@Pia Oct 15, 2023