Subtitle Workshop and different files
Thread poster: Miia Mattila
Miia Mattila
Miia Mattila
Estonia
Local time: 11:49
English to Finnish
Jun 5, 2007

I am a complete newbie to Subtitle Workshop; I downloaded the program in order to learn how to use it, but that's about it.

Now I have a job for which I'd really love to use it (I'd rather not do translations of subtitles in Word, 'cause it takes a lot of time), but stumbled on a very essential (read: a-dummy-should-know-this) problem:

I have the source text file in 5 different formats: .rtf, .pac, .stl, .tcs, and .w32 but I am unable to open any of these files in Subti
... See more
I am a complete newbie to Subtitle Workshop; I downloaded the program in order to learn how to use it, but that's about it.

Now I have a job for which I'd really love to use it (I'd rather not do translations of subtitles in Word, 'cause it takes a lot of time), but stumbled on a very essential (read: a-dummy-should-know-this) problem:

I have the source text file in 5 different formats: .rtf, .pac, .stl, .tcs, and .w32 but I am unable to open any of these files in Subtitle Workshop. Is really none of them supported by SW? Or is there something I can do in order to at least be able to view the movie with the subtitles and edit them in SW (where I can see the amount of characters per line etc. all the time)?

I'd really appreciate any help on this
Collapse

José Henrique Lamensdorf
José Henrique Lamensdorf  Identity Verified
Brazil
Local time: 05:49
English to Portuguese
+ ...
In memoriam
Try RTF -> TXT Jun 5, 2007

Miia,

I think the shortest route would be to use MS Word to open the RTF file and save it to TXT, which Subtitle Workshop can open.

What will happen when you open it will probably a surprise, either a good or a bad one. It all depends on how the subtitles were created. So you should be ready for any level of editing needs.