Thread poster: Silvia Ferrero
Silvia Ferrero
Silvia Ferrero  Identity Verified
Local time: 16:22
English to Spanish
+ ...
Apr 19, 2007

Hello everyone,

I would like to explore the area of subtitling and maybe offer it as a service in the future. I am thinking both of translating out of subtitles already existing in English and creating subtitles in my language, Spanish, out of English audio.
Since I have got no experience in this field, I would appreciate if you could let me know what type of software is needed to carry out this work. As a translator, I am not sure if we are expected to use a video software an
... See more
Hello everyone,

I would like to explore the area of subtitling and maybe offer it as a service in the future. I am thinking both of translating out of subtitles already existing in English and creating subtitles in my language, Spanish, out of English audio.
Since I have got no experience in this field, I would appreciate if you could let me know what type of software is needed to carry out this work. As a translator, I am not sure if we are expected to use a video software and insert the subtitles ourselves or simply translate the subtitles as you would any normal text, in programs such as Word or Excel.
Also, I would appreciate if you could give me an indication of rates that can be charged in the UK for this type of work.

Many thanks in advance.

Silvia
Collapse

L3r0y
L3r0y
Taiwan
Local time: 23:22
Italian to French
+ ...
Subtitling Apr 20, 2007

There is free software on Internet called subtitle workshop.
It is up to you to organize the subtitles. You must know how fast people read. In French, I know it is 74 signs per subtitle.
But I never charged subtitling yet.

Silvia Ferrero
Silvia Ferrero  Identity Verified
Local time: 16:22
English to Spanish
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Subtitling Apr 20, 2007