Flora Perez
Spain
Local time: 21:05
English to Spanish
+ ...
Aug 30, 2007

Dear all,

this is my situation:

I have been working for my first client for two months at a part-time basis, basically subtitling for DVD's (not translation, just spotting from the translated full dialogue) They want me to keep working with them doing the same job and also as a project manager, and thus launch the subtitling department. It sounds really interesting, doesn't it?

The problem is that I have been told to stay in an office for the whole day, wit
... See more
Dear all,

this is my situation:

I have been working for my first client for two months at a part-time basis, basically subtitling for DVD's (not translation, just spotting from the translated full dialogue) They want me to keep working with them doing the same job and also as a project manager, and thus launch the subtitling department. It sounds really interesting, doesn't it?

The problem is that I have been told to stay in an office for the whole day, without any contract, and being a freelancer. Apparently, I will have a minimum pay. But I haven't been told how much and I don't think they want to pay me a decent salary, for what I've seen so far (they told me I can ear from 900€ to 2000€), depending on how many hours a day I'm determined to stay in the office (8 hours=90€)

I have heard this situation is not legal (the fact of working for the same client in a same place full time), so I want to ask them, either for a contract with a minimum salary + projects (200 € a film) and accept their "funny" rates, or either work from home and do the projects for them only, not the management work, and with my own rates.

So I would like to ask:

1- whether working full time as a freelance in a specific office for the same client is actually legal or not (my client says we work per project, but everyone there has office hours to keep to, so it's actually per hours)