Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
UK VAT after Brexit
Thread poster: Will Kelly
Will Kelly
Will Kelly
United Kingdom
Dutch to English
Aug 10, 2019

Hi all. I'm a UK-based translator supplying B2B (agencies, other direct clients) and B2C customers in the Netherlands. My current understanding is that, as a VAT-registered limited, I need to charge VAT at 20% for B2C and at 0% for B2B.

Brexit is looming, and we still don't know whether or not there will be a deal and how a deal or no-deal scenario will affect things, but it might be useful for us UK-based translators supplying EU countries to pool our thoughts.

The UK
... See more
Hi all. I'm a UK-based translator supplying B2B (agencies, other direct clients) and B2C customers in the Netherlands. My current understanding is that, as a VAT-registered limited, I need to charge VAT at 20% for B2C and at 0% for B2B.

Brexit is looming, and we still don't know whether or not there will be a deal and how a deal or no-deal scenario will affect things, but it might be useful for us UK-based translators supplying EU countries to pool our thoughts.

The UK government's guidance on VAT in a no-deal scenario is here: https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/vat-for-businesses-if-theres-no-brexit-deal/vat-for-businesses-if-theres-no-brexit-deal.
Collapse

Dan Lucas
Andrew Hodges (X)

liz askew
liz askew  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 21:43
Member (2007)
French to English
+ ...
VAT Aug 13, 2019

Hi,
I see from various sites that your earnings need to be over £85,000 before registering for VAT.
You must have a very healthy income, I thought my income was high at over £34,000 but at least I don't need to be VAT registered.
Best of luck!
Liz Askew

Tom in London

Dan Lucas
Dan Lucas  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Member (2014)
Japanese to English
There are benefits to VAT registration Aug 13, 2019

liz askew wrote:
I see from various sites that your earnings need to be over £85,000 before registering for VAT.